QUINOA , ADZUKI BEAN SALAD WITH KALE

DSC_6372

Cook time : 20-40 minutes

Level : Easy

Serve : 6

Quinoa is so tasty , wonderful and has a nice crunch .

Quinoa  contains all the essential amino acids and it is  containing no gluten . One cup cooked  quinoa contains 30 milligrams of calcium . It is great for salads , soups . Vitamins: B1,B2, B3,B6, E .

Adzuki beans are excellent source of soluble fiber .They also contain folate , potassium and magnesium. Adzuki beans are good way to get B vitamins , including B1 ,B2 , B3, B6 , and including  folic acid ,

INGREDIENTS :

1 cup Quinoa

1/2 cup Adzuki bean , soaked overnight and boiled  about 30-35 minutes and strained .

1 medium red onion , diced

1/4 Cucumber , peeled and diced

1 cup Kale , copped

1 garlic , minced

2 tbsp olive oil

1 little Red beet pickle , chopped

1 tbsp goat cheese

FOR SALAD DRESSING INGREDIENTS :

4 tbsp  fresh lemon juice

2 tbsp pomegranate sauce

1 tbsp white vine vinegar

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp red pepper flakes

Put  the lemon juice , pomegranate sauce , vine vinegar , olive oil , the salt , pepper  in a little bowl and stir them . Set aside it .

DIRECTION :

Place the quinoa  in a medium pan with 3 cup cold water , over the high heat and bring to boil ; reduce  heat to low .  Cook it  , stirring occasionally for 15-20 minutes until tender  and almost all the water has evaporated  . Then set aside to cool .

Meanwhile , heat the oil in  another medium pan , add the diced red onion , one pinch salt  and cook the onion for  a few minutes until softened . Add the garlic and stir , then add the chopped kale . Stir them , cook for 1 minute and remove from the heat .

Place the cooled quinoa , adzuki bean in a big bowl . Stir the softened red onion and kale into the cooled quinoa . Add the cucumber , the red beet , goat cheese  and sprinkle the salad dressing . Toss well together and chill until ready to serve .

Bon appetite !
DSC06540
DSC06538
DSC06539

DSC06541

DSC06542

DSC06545

25 thoughts on “QUINOA , ADZUKI BEAN SALAD WITH KALE

  1. Looks good, I like the dressing ingredients 🙂

  2. Thank you ! You inspire me to be creative with my quinoa!

  3. Fresh and delicious. This would make a great side dish or a meal all by itself. Quinoa is a family favorite. I just bought some adzuki beans to sprout with but I may set some aside to make this! Thank you!

  4. Excellent timing. I am staring at a ginormous bag of quinoa as I type. Thanks!!!

  5. This looks great! I have all of the ingredients, too! 🙂

  6. I want to make this tonight!

  7. I love this recipe! Thank you so much for sharing!

  8. i’m a fan of wilting kale with heat too, but lately i’ve been trying to preserve as much kaleness as possible by wilting it with a lemon juice squeezing/massage. what do you think about trying that method for this salad?

  9. I have never tried quinoa and don’t even know where to find it…. which isle in the supermarket would I have to look to find it please. I have heard a lot about it lately , but never tried. This looks delicious. I am a rubbish cook, I might learn from your blog a bit! 🙂

  10. I got it from waitrose but I got it delivered so am not really sure which isle it would be really… You should try this if you can find quinoa, it is really super easy. The measurements I used to cook it made it less sticky which I like but If you like it to be more sticky then you can ofcourse follow the instructions on the back of the package. Thank you so much for your comment and hope this was helpful!:)

  11. I’ve never had Quinoa but I have wanted to try it. It’s supposed to be good for us to eat. This looks like a good place to start. Thanks for sharing.

  12. I’m starting learning how to cook. Just move from my mom’s last year and she is a great cook, so I never try it before. Next weekend i will try this recipe :), thank you so much for sharing.

  13. Looks delicious. Now I know what to do with the can of adzuki beans I have.

Give a comment, pointer or anything else!

