HOMEMADE PASTRY WITH CHEESE-( SU BÖREĞİ )

DSC06266

Cook time : 20-25 minutes

Level : Medium – Hard

Serve : 12

Hello everyone! Hope everyone had a lovely christmas and new year!  I was busy making this delicious Turkish dish for my family this new year and wanted to share it with you all. It does take a little practice to get it right but it is delicious and healthy. The  handmade flaky pastry really melts in your mouth. It is wonderful  for tea time or snack.

Hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I enjoyed making it!

FOR DOUGHT  INGREDIENTS :

4 cup all purpose flour or 2 cup plain flour and 2 cup strong flour .

5 eggs

1/4 water and   1  and 1/2 tsp  Sea salt , mix them .

Place  the flour and crack the  eggs in the middle ,  mix them . Add the salted water and knead well  and make a stiff but pliable dough . Cover  the dough with a clean tea towel  or plastic wrap  and set aside for 15 -20 minutes .

FOR DUSTING INGREDIENTS  ; 1  and 1 /2 cup extra all purpose flour and 1 cup wheat starch  mix in bowl , set aside .

FOR FILLING :

150 gr. butter , 1/2 cup olive oil  , Melt the butter and olive oil , set aside

200 gr. white  cheese   or Feta cheese , grated

50 gr. Mozzarella and 50 gr. Cheddar

1/ 2 bunch parsley  , washed , chopped ,  Mix the cheese and parsley , set aside

DIRECTIONS :

Divide the dough into 8 pieces  and shape  like a disk . Roll the dough with a thin ,long  rolling pin . Roll each piece the same size with the mixed extra flour . Continue to roll until  it is less then a mm  , The sheet  will be larger than your baking tray .  Place them on  your kitchen table , set aside . Place a unboiled pastry sheet in the baking tray and spread lightly with 2-3 tsp the mixed oil , set aside .

Boil 6-9 liter water and add 2 tbsp sea salt and boil for  one minute . Then remove it from the boiling water trying not to tear it . Place it firs in a bowl icy-cold water ,when it is cooled  then remove it from the cold water  to a flat strainer and drain with a clean tea towel or clean paper towel . Then  layer the sheet in the baking tray , brushing 2-3 tsp the  mixed oil  . Do the same with 2 more pieces of the sheet  . Now spread the filling cheese over the  pastry sheet  .

Then take the 4 remaining pieces of dough , prepare them exactly  as you did the others . Sprinkle remaining  the oil over the pastry  sheet  . Place the borek  in  the preheated oven . Bake it until golden yellow on the top  , about 25-30 minutes  .

Bon appetite

DSC06212

Melt the butter and olive oil , for brushing the pastry sheet .
DSC06213
Mix the flour and wheat starch , set aside , for dusting .
DSC06214

FOR DOUGH INGREDIENTS AND DIRECTIONS PICTURES :
DSC06207

DSC06208

DSC06209

DSC06215

DSC06216

DSC06220

Place  an uncooked  pastry sheet in the baking tray and sprinkle the mixed oil , brush it .
DSC06222

DSC06223

Place the pastry sheet in the salted , boiled water .
DSC06224

Cook the pastry sheet for 30-60 second .
DSC06225

Place the cooked pastry sheet in icy water .DSC06226

Let cool it for 30-50 second .
DSC06227

Place the pastry sheet over the strainer and dry the pastry sheet with a clean paper towel .
DSC06229

Sprinkle the mixed oil with a spoon .
DSC06230

Brush the mixed oil with a pastry brush .DSC06231

Put the cheese mixture on top of the 4th layer of pastry.
DSC06234

Place the cooked and drained pastry sheet over the cheese .
DSC06236

Sprinkle the mixed oil and brush .
DSC06237

Put the remain mixed oil on top of the last pastry sheet  .
DSC06239

DSC06241

DSC06242

DSC06266

59 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks super delicious and amazing!

    1. Thank you so much , Happy new year!

    2. Natalie Carr says:

      Hi there! Looks delicious!

  2. Mirror of Health & Fashion says:

    It’s amazing

  3. WOW! Looks delicious 🙂

  4. Wow! I must try this.

  5. deliciouslynell says:

    That looks delicious!

    1. Thank you!! Have a nice day!

  6. Awesome…added to my favs!

  7. mammaspeaks says:

    This one’s look like a winner…nom nom!!!

  8. Carol Donaldson says:

    These look very very tasty

    1. Thank you so much Carol Donaldson!
      🙂

    1. Thank you very much! 🙂

  9. Looks good. Must try it. Is there some way to make it w/o the eggs? anything else I can add? pl let me know.

    1. Thank you so much for comment and I am sorry for delay. You must add the eggs. Best wishes! 🙂

  10. Now you’ve made me hungry!

    1. Thank you so much for cute comment! 🙂

  11. That looks wonderful and delicious.

  12. Wow. That looks sooo good

    1. Thank you so much! Have a great weekend! 🙂

  13. Not so many recipes of su boregi in English online! I’m so glad I found yours and can’t wait to try it out 🙂 Thanks!

    1. Thank you very much for lovely words, I am glad, you liked the recipe. 🙂

  14. Beautifully documented– looks absolutely delicious! : )

    1. Thank you so much for very nice comment! 🙂

  15. Tania Tome M de Castro says:

    Very nice photos! I loved your blog!

    1. Thank you so much!!! 🙂

  16. I love your site, me too is fond of cooking for my two gentleman, my sons. I’ll try some of your recipe. hope I could copy it right, thank you so much.

  17. Thank you so much for very nice comment and I am glad you liked the recipe. 🙂

  18. Like you, am fond am baking and sell it to my friends as an income. But just not as good as you as I open your site. Hope to learn from you and thank you so much, you inspired me. Nice adding you as new friend.

    1. My pleasure and thank you so much for lovely comment! Best wishes for you ,lourdesdadang! 🙂

  19. jmsabbagh says:

    Fantastic,we will try it.One unique blog you have.Jalal

    1. Thank you very much for nice words, Jalal! I am glad you liked it.

  20. Capt Jill says:

    that looks delicious but I think it’s probably beyond my skills, I try to keep my cooking short and sweet. Your photos do help tho. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for lovely comment! Sorry for delay. Have a great weekend! 🙂

  21. priscilla says:

    Thank you so much for posting this. I used to work nearby an eastern european restaurant and the cheese boreki were my favorite. Can’t wait to try this recipe!!

    1. Thank you so much for comment and I am glad you liked it. Have a great week! 🙂

  22. lpishere says:

    Wow! That looks GREAT!! Can’t wait to try it.
    Lucie

    1. Thank you so much! I am glad,you liked it. Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  23. Whoa. Thank you for publishing this!! Looks incredible…love the process and the pics. I’m for sure trying it – looks incredible!

    1. Thanks let me know if you do try. It is a little complicated but so tasty 🙂

  24. Sounds great and the photos are very helpful!

    1. Thank you very much for lovely comment! Have a great weekend, Christy Birmingham! 🙂

  25. ilia43 says:

    This looks delicious. There’s one thing I don’t understand: why boil the pastry sheets? It looks so complicated. What does boiling do to the pastry? What will happen if you just lay your sheets uncooked? I would appreciate if you’d take a few minutes to answer this. Thanks.

    1. Hi ilia43 sorry for the late reply. Boiling the pastry sheets just gives them a softer texture so when you bake them it is soft on the inside but crunchy on the outside. This is the technique for this special pastry. If you lay the sheets uncooked I’m sure it will still be tasty but it would be a different type of borek. I hope this helps! Let me know if you have any more questions. 🙂

  26. I’ve only had the privilege of tasting this a couple of times and am SO impressed with how difficult it is to make *and* how incredibly delicious! Thank you for sharing the whole process like this! It makes me appreciate all the more what a great culinary gift it is. 😀
    Kathryn

    1. Thank you so much for comment! I agree with you, this borek is really delicious and it is worth a try. Have a great weekend! 🙂

  27. Wow you must be some cook! Wish I had that talent, and so does my family. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for lovely comment! Have a great day! 🙂

  28. Alicia says:

    What oven temperature do you bake it at?

  29. hbs1991 says:

    I would like to try this! Looks Great! 🙂

  30. Globalresidence says:

    Looks amazingly delicious! 😋😃

    1. Thank you for your informative words and Have a nice day! 🙂

  31. Oh gosh…you had me at cheese. 🙂 Thank you for swinging by the “Ranch” and for the follow. We 💗 visitors.

Give a comment, pointer or anything else!